Why UHS: Shadow Visit Experience

phoebe

 

Phoebe ’18

 

 

As my time at UHS comes to an end, I have begun to reflect on my experience over the past three years. As a prospective transfer student coming from overseas, I anticipated the process of choosing a high school that suited me to be an extremely difficult experience. However, it was my shadow visit that truly swayed my decision towards choosing UHS as the school for me.

By the time my visit was over, I was sure that I had found my new home for the next 3 years. The thing that stood out to me the most was the overarching attitude of the students. Over the course of my visit, I gathered that the students who attended UHS had a true desire to learn. In each of the classes I observed, the students were fully engaged and participated in collaborative discussions. It wasn’t until my visit to UHS did I realize what my previous school experience had been missing: being surrounded by people who truly wanted to be at school, and had a common passion for learning. It was instantly obvious to me that the students who attended University High School were there because they chose to be. So, to all admitted students, I am so incredibly happy with my decision to become a Red Devil. I know that UHS is the perfect school for me, and I hope it will be for you too! 

Leave a comment